Alabama Rental Laws

Below are the key laws, rules and regulations that every landlord and tenant needs to be aware of. Once you understand the basics of Alabama state law, you’ll be able to address many legal questions and problems relating to leasing and renting a property without the assistance of lawyer. Alabama rental laws are governed by Alabama Code, Title 35: Property – Chapter 9A.

 

Statutes and Regulations:

Security Deposit:

  • Security Deposit Maximum: 1 month’s rent
  • Security Deposit Interest: No statute
  • Additional Deposits: Landlords can charge additional deposits for pets, undoing any tenant required alterations (ie. ramps, handrails, etc.) or any other tenant specific activities that increase liability
  • Security Deposit Return: 35 days after tenant moves

Rents and Fees:

  • Returned Check Fees: $30 plus collection costs
  • Rent Increase Notice: 30 days notice
  • Right to Withhold: Tenants may not withhold rent or exercise the right to

    “repair and deduct”

  • Late Fees: As stipulated in lease
  • Rent Control: None (Preemption by statute)

Notices and Entry:

  • Move-Out Inspection Notification: No statute
  • Eviction Notice for Nonpayment: 7 days to pay or quit
  • Eviction Notice for Lease Violation: 10 days to remedy or quit
  • Required Notice before Entry: 2 days
  • Entry Allowed with Notice for Maintenance and Repairs: Yes
  • Entry Allowed During Tenant’s Extended Absence: In excess of 14 day absence, unannounced reasonable entry is allowed
  • Entry Allowed with Notice for Showing the Property: Yes
  • Emergency Entry Allowed without Notice: Yes, within reason

Business Licenses:

  • Business License Required: Some city require a license to rent property.

Courts:

  • Small Claims Court: $3,000 limit
Stay up-to-date on the latest laws, regulations and industry news.
 

Featured Articles

Annual Housing Market Trends: 2017 in Review, 2018 Outlook

DOWNLOAD REPORT