Arizona Rental Laws

Landlord tenant law in Arizona is governed by the Arizona Residential Landlord and Tenant Act. The Act was established for the benefit of income property owners as well as tenants. The Act outlines the rights and obligations of the landlord to the tenant and tenant to the landlord during tenancy. The information below is a partial summary of the laws and statutes covered under the Arizona Residential Landlord and Tenant Act. This information is not meant as a substitute for legal advice from an attorney.

 

Statutes and Regulations:

Deposits, Rents and Fees

  • Maximum Security DepositAriz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1321(A) – Landlord cannot require more than 1 and 1/2 months rent for deposit. Tenant can voluntarily pay more.
  • Interest on Security Deposit – No security deposit interest statute.
  • Nonrefundable FeesAriz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1321(B) – Nonrefundable fees must be listed in lease.
  • Security Deposit Accounts – No statute on separate bank accounts for security deposits.
  • Pet DepositAriz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1321(A) – Landlord cannot require more than 1 and 1/2 months rent for pet deposit.
  • Itemization of Security Deposit DeductionsAriz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1321(D) – Must provided written itemized list of deductions from security deposit to tenant via first-class mail.
  • Security Deposit ReturnAriz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1321(D) – Security deposit must be returned within 14 business days of tenancy termination.
  • Failure to ComplyRev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1321(D); Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1321(E) – Failure to comply with security deposit regulations will result in tenant recovering damages in an amount equal to twice the amount wrongfully withheld by landlord.
  • Rent PaymentsAriz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1314(C) – Rent is due and payable as specified in the lease agreement – typically at the beginning of each month for residential rental agreements.
  • Increasing Rent – No rent control or rent increase statutes.
  • Rent Grace PeriodAriz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1414(A4) – No statute for rent grace period for residential dwellings. 5 day grace period required for manufactured homes.
  • Assessment of Late FeesAriz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1414(C) – No statute for late fees for residential dwellings. Late fees for manufactured homes cannot exceed 5 dollars per day.
  • Prepaid Rent LimitAriz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1321(A) – Landlord cannot require more than 1 and 1/2 months rent for any deposit and prepaid rent combined. Tenant may prepay rent in excess of 1 and 1/2 months rent voluntarily.
  • Nonsufficient Funds – No statute on nonsuficient funds and returned check fees.
  • Tenant Withholding for Failure to ProvideAriz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1364 – Tenant is allowed to withhold rent for landlord’s failure to previde essential services (water, heat, etc.)
  • Tenant Repair and DeductAriz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1363 – Tenant is permitted to repair and deduct from rent after providing notice to landlord and giving landlord 10 days to make non-emergency repairs requested. Tenant cannot withhold more than $300 or one-half of monthly rent, which ever is greater.
  • Recovery of Attorney’s FeesAriz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 12-341.01 – Successful party to suit may recover attorney’s fees.
  • Mitigate DamagesAriz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1370(C) – Landlord must make all reasonable efforts to mitigate the damages caused of lessee defaulting on lease, including attempting to rerent the premises.

Notices and Entry

  • Notice to Terminate Tenancy for Month-to-Month LeaseAriz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1375(B) – Notice to terminate tenancy must be provided no less than 30 days from lease expiration for all month-to-month leases.
  • Notice to Terminate Tenancy for Week-to-Week LeaseAriz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1375(A) – Notice to terminate tenancy must be provided no less than 10 days from lease expiration for all week-to-week leases.
  • Notice to Terminate Tenancy for Lease with Set End Date – Not notice to terminate tenancy is required for leases with a fixed end date.
  • Willful Tenant HoldeverAriz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1375(C) – In case of willful tenant holdover, landlord may seek possession and recover damages equal to no more than twice actual damages or two month’s rent.
  • Move-out InspectionAriz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1321(C) – Landlord must provide tenant move-out inspection at tenant’s request unless landlord fears violence from tenant.
  • Termination of Lease for NonpaymentAriz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1368(B) – Landlord must provide tenant 5 days to remedy or quit notice for lease termination due to non-payment.
  • Termination of Lease for Breach of ContractAriz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1368(A) – Landlord must provide tenant 10 days to remedy or quit notice unless for breach of contract affecting health or safety in which case only 5 days notice is required.
  • Termination of Lease for Falsification of InformationAriz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1368(A2) – Landlord must provide tenant 10 days notice of termination for falsification of of criminal record, current criminal activity, or previous eviction record.
  • Immediate Termination of Lease
  • Notice of EntryAriz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1343(D) – Landlord required to provide tenant 48 hour notice before entry.
  • Notice for RepairsAriz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1343(A) – Landlord entry allowed to make repairs, for maintenance and for showings.
  • No Notice for Emergency EntryAriz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1343(C) – Emergency entrance allowed without notice.
  • Extended AbsenceAriz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1343 – Landlord not allowed to enter premises during tenant’s extended absence.
  • Unlawfull EvictionAriz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1367 – Landlord not allowed to unlawfully remove tenant, tenant’s possessions, or turn off utilities. Landlord liable to tenant in an amount not to exceed two month’s rent or twice actual damages for unlawful removal.

Disclosures and Responsibilities

  • Landlord Must Maintain HabitableAriz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1324 – Landlord must maintain rental property in habitable condition.
  • Tenant Must Maintain HabitableAriz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1341 – Tenant must not damage premises and maintain premises habitable.
  • County RegistrationAriz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1902 – Rental properties must be registered with county assessor.
  • Notice of Arizona Residential Landlord and Tenant ActAriz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1322 – Landlord must inform any new tenant in writing of the Arizona Residential Landlord and Tenant Act.
  • Disclosure of LeaseAriz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1321(C) – Landlord must provide the tenant with a copy of the lease, a move-in form to list existing damages, and a notification advising tenant they may be present for move-out inspection.
  • Bedbugs Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1319 – Landlord must notify any new tenants of prior bedbug infestation. Landlord must not enter lease with tenant if the premises has a current bedbug infestation.
  • Domestic ViolenceAriz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1318(A) – Tenant may terminate lease without penalty when proof of domestic violence is provided to landlord. Landlord has the right to verify any claim of domestic violence.
  • Tenant’s Personal PropertyAriz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1370(E) – Following tenant default and abandonment of premises landlord must hold tenant’s personal property for 10 days at which time landlord may sell tenant’s property to satisfy any outstanding debts. Excess proceeds from sale of property must be mailed to tenant at tenant’s last know address.

Small Claims Court

Stay up-to-date on the latest laws, regulations and industry news.
 

Featured Articles

Annual Housing Market Trends: 2017 in Review, 2018 Outlook

DOWNLOAD REPORT